Love Like Christ

I woke up with a selfish heart that did not want to serve again this morning, but going on strike is never an option when you have a baby. I went to the fridge only to find that the thawing chicken had leaked all over the bottom shelf. My frustration mounted. “I’ve wanted to be a wife and mother my entire life. This isn’t what I signed up for!”

Through my sin, God was gracious. He pursued me in my morning devotions and led me to this passage: “Therefore, be imitators of God, as beloved children. And walk in love, as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us, a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God” (Eph. 5:1-2). It’s as if Jesus said, “I am not asking you to do anything that I have not done myself. I gave myself for you. You can give yourself for your family. Be ‘a fragrant offering and sacrifice for God.’ Imitate me.” It’s comforting to know that the ground I walk on, Jesus walked before me and that he does not ask me to do anything that he did not do himself. The very reason that I am commanded to love, serve and sacrifice is so that I can imitate my great God and Savior who loved, served and sacrificed for me.

 

One thought on “Love Like Christ

Leave a comment